Skip to content

What’s in a name?

June 23, 2010

It’s so crazy that I’ve been married for a month and one day already.  Seriously, where does time go?

I love being married!  If I really think about it, things are not much different then before.  We already lived together and we go about our days pretty much the same.  But there is something in the air…something comforting, something so right that just brings peace to my day.  I was never comfortable with the word boyfriend (and when I was younger even the idea of boyfriend had me out the other door!) , I never said fiance, but I love that “husband” seems so natural with Jon.  I guess that’s a good thing :P!

I officially in the eyes of the law became Mrs. P. yesterday.  It’s a bit of a relief I must admit.  I kind of felt as though I’d been living in limbo the last few weeks.  Mrs. P. on the surface but it wasn’t really getting me anywhere signature wise.  I didn’t know what name to say, what to sign, when to change my emails, etc. since I wasn’t “legal” yet.  Getting my license yesterday was interesting because I wasn’t sure what to sign where and I finally looked at the lady and said “AH – who am I?!”  Now that I’m officially Mrs. P. I can work to start becoming ONE person again!  PHEW…

Millions of people have changed their names when they’ve gotten married, so it must be something you get used to!  I’m finding so far that leaving messages or talking on the phone is the toughest.  “Hi, this is Stacy M…..” is SO ingrained in my head, I’m not sure how it will get out!  I have post it notes on BOTH my computer screens and my phone to remind me!!

We’ll see how long this takes!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2010 10:18 am

    I’m sure it takes getting used to! I can’t imagine!

  2. June 27, 2010 9:20 pm

    but *still* so exciting! 🙂

  3. June 28, 2010 5:30 pm

    congratulations! I am hoping my boyfriend pops the question soon!

  4. June 29, 2010 2:58 pm

    I don’t remember how long it took me to get used to the new last name… but I remember the whole process being a pain in the ass! My checks are actually still in my maiden name (because it seemed to wasteful to toss them).

    Even over 3 years later, I still apparently respond to my maiden name (as I did in the doctor’s office when they called for Ms. Wallace. Whoops… not me).

Leave a comment